The Globalization Gods Must Be Laughing (Part 2)

You might notice a distinct difference between this post and the last, the fact that I can use upper case and exclamation points!!! is really nice. No my computer woes haven’t been solved, I’ve just come up with a temporary fix by using an external keyboard.

So picking up from where I left off yesterday…I went to bed and had crazy dreams about the vietnam war/revolutionary war/competing against Conan O’Brien in a game on his show, but that isn’t really the point of this post…

This morning I went to the TAC where they fiddled around with my computer but had no luck fixing it. They recommended that I call Toshiba to find a authorized dealer who could fix the hardware. I spent most of the rest of my morning (in between classes) trying to figure out exactly what to do. I called the Toshiba helpline and with my serial number and reference number in hand I was connected to a representative. We discussed the numerous ways (thankfully covered under my warranty) that I could have my laptop fixed. She first recommended the closest authorized dealership, which was located all the way in Fairfax, and see how long that they would take to fix it. Secondly she recommended taking it to a UPS store and it would be fixed in 7-10 days. “7-10 days” I thought, I definitely cannot be without a computer that long. Lastly she recommended taking it back to the store where I purchased it, sadly though NJ is just a little too far away at the moment.

So there I was with a computer dilemma but with no clear solution. Could I get one of my friends to drive me to Fairfax? No, that would be mean. Or should I use the awesomeness that is globalization and take it to an UPS store? Of course for research purposes I decided on the latter. Let me break it down for you, after calling Toshiba for the third time and repeating that same stuff for the third time (someone needs to work on work flow there) I was finally connected to the person I needed to talk to. Of course I was curious just exactly how this process worked and if Friedman really made it is as simple as it sounded. So after describing my predicament to the Toshiba support representative he created a case number for me (the 4th one I have had since calling Toshiba) and an order number to use at the UPS store. Take note that before going to any UPS store you need to have an order number directly from Toshiba and make sure the UPS store you are taking it to works in conjunction with Toshiba because not any old UPS store will do. Again I asked how many days it will take for it to be repaired and again 7-10 business days was the answer I recieved, a little to my dissapointment. The best thing to come out of this though is that I don’t actually need to go back to the store to pick it up, they will mail it to me here at Mary Wash. In addition I can track the progress of the package online using the number given to me, so now I can closely monitor the exact location of my package (a feature that I have utilized while waiting for Amazon.com packages to arrive) which keeps me happy.

I have everything I need to take it to the UPS store and now its just a matter of when I should I do it and how I will get there. I think my best bet is taking it in right before fall break so that I will not be stranded without a computer when class is in session. Stay tuned for a part 3 in the adventure of “Getting my Toshiba fixed via Globalization”! …And honestly, I should get extra credit for sacrificing my laptop in the name of globalization but thats just my opinion.

3 Responses to “The Globalization Gods Must Be Laughing (Part 2)”


  1. 1 Steve Greenlaw September 27, 2006 at 9:29 pm

    At least you should get an A for creativity. 😉

  2. 2 Area Of Kids August 16, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    Thanks for sharing this information. Really is pack with new knowledge. Keep them coming.


  1. 1 Globalization is Broad at Dr. Greenlaw’s FSEM 100 Trackback on September 28, 2006 at 10:08 am

Leave a Reply

Tagged! My Del.icio.us Feed

Photos Huzzah!


