…and exhale

The FA has ended and I am already feeling withdrawal. I can’t say much now because I am borrowing my friend’s laptop but, as soon as my laptop is returned to me (with working shift keys hopefully) there are many things I want to say. First, it may seem silly but, I know there is something special going on when I willingly miss the season finale of my obsession, CSI. Lastly for now, I just want to comment on the after dinner activities. As each person stood up to say something I knew they weren’t doing it because they felt they had to but, because of the genuine love and friendships that have formed. I’m just in awe of all that is in front of me and I wonder what wrinkle in the matrix has placed all of these people together. The lovely music being played and the song being sung by the choir is like a siren song, and I am lost in it. I feel beyond blessed that I should have stumbled across this community of thinkers, learners, and innovators. This is going to be a long strange trip the next 3 years and hopefully beyond that too.

4 Responses to “…and exhale”


  1. 1 onawhimsy May 18, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    “The song being sung by the choir is like a siren song, and I am lost in it.” Profoundly, succinctly, and elegantly put. What did the sirens sing to Homer’s ancient traveler? We know who you are. We know where you have been. We know everything, and that is our seductive power over the curious.

    Here’s to a community of the curious!

  2. 2 Dr. C. May 18, 2007 at 7:54 pm

    Onawhimsy’s already commented on one of my favorite bits here. Here’s another:

    “I wonder what wrinkle in the matrix has placed all of these people together.”

    I love this bit, for it describes the wonder I feel every time this special group assembles.

    And I’m sure glad that wrinkle has fetched you in too.

  3. 3 Joe May 21, 2007 at 10:53 am

    You really flipped out when you realized you missed that show.


  1. 1 Running with Scissors » Blog Archive » Technology Vanishes at FA Trackback on May 21, 2007 at 11:33 pm

Leave a Reply

Tagged! My Del.icio.us Feed

Photos Huzzah!


