2008 Resolutions

Besides my new year’s blogging resolution I’ve actually made some other ones this year too. This is mostly inspired by Laura who has talked about resolutions a lot recently on her blog and she has convinced me that I should make some too.

1) Exercise. Right off the bat I am already copying Laura but three times a week seems like a reasonable goal to start out with (probably M,W,F when I only have one class). I don’t really like running (actually I could go on a rant about how much I hate running just for the sake of running, throw me a soccer ball or something!) so I’m planning on using the gym at the school and doing something outside (where I much rather be anyway). I also brought down my golf clubs so hopefully I can hit the driving range and maybe sneak onto a golf course ; ).

2) Manage my time better. Who didn’t see this one coming? I do own a planner, but it tends to get shoved to the side and so it is not very useful when I actually need it. So I’m not going to use the planner for daily stuff and use it for more long term dates and the bigger stuff I need to remember. For the daily stuff I am going to use my google calendar and plan out my week in advance so I can create designating times to work on school work for different classes. When I left things open ended I usually ended up using all my free time to do things that weren’t as important so the work never got done. There is also a detailed list of things to do that I have been working on for specific classes. I’ve always been a fly by the seat of my pants kind of person so sitting down and working on a structured list has been really hard for me, but I think it will help me in the long run.

3) Start a garden. This is something I’ve wanted to do for awhile, but since I live on campus was not really feasible. For my junior year I will be living off campus at a house where my friends already live. I was talking about it with my friend Carly and she said she wanted to redo the landscaping stuff in the front anyway so I probably could come over in the spring and start on the garden if I wanted. This project requires me to actually learn how to garden so I will have to do some reading (gardnening blogs!) and probably find a store around town that knows a thing or two. One of my goals is to spend more time outside so along with possibly exercising outside gardening will give me a reason to get out my room.

4) Give back to my family. Over the last few years my family has become increasingly important to me and this year I want do something for them. My plan is to take old family vhs tapes and converting them into a digital format. At DTLT they have the equipment to do it so I plan on sneaking in when I am not working to capture the film. This also requires me to find a good way to store all the files so I’ll probably be bothering people at work for thier opinion.

There are also little ones that I want to do, but for now this is good enough.

5 Responses to “2008 Resolutions”


  1. 1 Steve January 2, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    1. The only time I ever found running fun was in grad school when the pain of my daily existence gave me a reason to spend time running. I’ll take a soccer ball anytime. Golf — who knew?

    2. I don’t know a college student or teacher who couldn’t manage their time better. Let me know what you find out. Better yet, patent it.

    3. At various times in my life, I’ve found gardening (not to be confused with Gardner-ing) a great diversion from academics. I’d love to see what you can do on that front.

    4. The Greenlaw clan recently completed the old-home movies to DVD conversion. Now we need to figure out how to add soundtrack, etc. Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

    Sounds like a plan!

  2. 2 Andy Rush January 3, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    I hear Jim Groom is really good with transferring VHS tapes to DVDs 😉

  3. 3 Martha January 3, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    I have always wanted to love running, and I hate it. In my heart, I think I *should* be a runner, but when I’m actually out there I’m miserable.

    For me, I think my favorite form of exercise will always be hiking. It’s got the same meditative quality that I associate with running and I usually get to be out looking at beautiful views. Plus, when it’s a good hike it *hurts* is that really good way.

  4. 4 Mary-Kathryn January 3, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    1 My excercise will come from walking from the Parking Deck to The Combs Building and vice versa because I am a poor, unloved, commuter student.

    2. I try to manage my time very well-and then my children laugh. They get sick, shove plans at me, teachers need to see me, projects happen, and life blooms. :o)

    3. I’m not gardening this year but I have chickens. That could be fertilizer. And I listen to Gardner’s podcast thingys,read books, and write. A blooming of words?

    4. Ah..maybe I can sit still for family photo people have been bugging me for…

    Good luck with your resolutions and all your studies!!!

  5. 5 Laura January 6, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    I hope your resolutions are going well. They sound like good ones. I’m doing pretty well on mine although it’s hard to keep up with them when everything is in full swing.


Leave a Reply

Tagged! My Del.icio.us Feed

Photos Huzzah!


