A bit of focus and perhaps a goal

I’ve spent a good amount of time wondering why I can’t seem to get words down onto digital paper. I keep reflecting back on my semester and I feel a lot of it went right, I was caring and connecting, it all felt so good, but still the crash and burn. It took me until today to really realize (or perhaps accept is the better word) that my personal issues are what really got in the way this semester and I’ve taken the break to go seek some help so I’m still in middle of pulling and picking apart the issue. Since my learning and my personal life have become so intertwined over that past few months it may also explain why I haven’t been able to separate these two to deal with each sides individual issues. This is all a really long way to say that I’m still trying to get my head on straight so you may have to deal with some garbled nonsense for awhile.

Now to a completely different subject that is (in my mind) related. For awhile I have had the same real school record going through my head, repeating the same thoughts. Not that I believe I know it all, but I feel like I know what is going on and have not come to any brilliant new revelations. I’m also at the point where I am forgetting what it is like before I drank the proverbial kool-aide so connecting back is getting harder. Considering all this it occurred to me that I need to find a way to start openly sharing my thoughts and opinions on learning. What better way to get a fresh perspective on something than challenge some people with the idea and follow them through their wrestling to see what they come up with. I’ll never be a good car salesman, it is not in my nature to push my ideas on to someone (I’m really a wimp). So this is a challenge to myself to find ways to talk about what is some of the most revolutionary ideas I have ever heard. It is also a request to those who read my blog to help me out too. I want to reach students and there are those of you out there that do a marvelous job of reeling them and keep them coming back for more and it is an amazing gift to be blessed with (heck, it is that ability in others that has brought me along this path in the first place).

I’m just wondering what, if anything, I should do next.

2 Responses to “A bit of focus and perhaps a goal”


  1. 1 Mary-Kathryn January 5, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    Shannon,

    I’m just going to be a really boring boring Mom here and just say, take care of yourself first. Everything else will fall into place later. If you spread yourself too thin { by wanting to gather other students in-with all of your greath enthusiasm and knowledge-it maybe a bit too much at the moment. Let yourslf breathe for awhile. Give yourself a bit of a break from your very, very hectic Fall schedule. (I warned you I was a typical boring Mom) be a bit selfish-it’s OK and you’re totally worth it!

    See- I told you, I’m terrible. I got that Mom-thang and you didn’t even ask for it :o)

  2. 2 Shannon January 5, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    @Mary-Kathryn – Don’t worry you aren’t the only one doing the whole “parent thing”, I’ve heard it a couple of times in the last few weeks from different people, I suppose I probably should start listening. I have a pretty hard time being selfish (most of the time its not being selfish but I just see it that way). I just feel like I need something to do, I’m just not sure what that something is.
    Thanks for the advice.


Leave a Reply

Tagged! My Del.icio.us Feed

Photos Huzzah!


