Why Wait?

I should designate a certain day of the week where I give myself permission to rant on my blog, just so I know I am controlling the volume of my craziness.

Anyway so this rant is about the whole waiting game that people seem to play. For brevity sake I’m just going to focus on college students playing the waiting game. In high school we looked forward to getting to college to have freedom to do what it is we imagined college students do. Now as college students we play a similar waiting game as in high school.

I’m sick and tired of people complaining about classes (I’m not exempt from this complaining) and waiting for the big test to pass or the semester to end. I will even be as bold to say that as students we are expected to complain about it, no one ever says it aloud, but it is just the assumption most of us live by. I also think that it is this unspoken expectation that creates a barrier between students and real learning. From what our friends, family, and the media tell us college is about other things. No one mentions the life of the mind, that is for nerdy professors who like to impress everyone with their obscure knowledge about their specialty. And so we are patiently waiting out the storm. Even as a society people seem to live for the weekends. In my opinion living for the weekend (especially as a college student) is ridiculous, you are missing 5/7th of your week (thats about 71%). When do you plan on living? In college students are lucky to have the kind of freedom to have a relatively flexible schedule. College is a unique environment unlike anything else we will ever experience, yet we focus on other things, even ignoring the reason colleges where created in the first place.

What are we waiting for? There are multiple answers to this and a lot of the responses are along the lines of “in the future I’ll have the time to do what I want”. Again college is just treated as a bus stop on the way to brighter future (and that future is most uncertain). You make plans, but then life gets in the way. I wonder if students took the time to think about where they were, the here and now (and not just the weekend parties), if they would realize how poorly they were treating the present and the opportunities that would never present themselves again.

So why wait? I hope to keep asking myself that question over the semester? If I feel I am waiting, what do I think I am waiting for? And is it realistic?

/End rant

7 Responses to “Why Wait?”


  1. 1 Gardner January 7, 2008 at 6:27 am

    Great post.

    Have I got an essay for you–a complete mindblower I just encountered from Jerome Bruner. Stay tuned.

  2. 2 Andy Rush January 7, 2008 at 8:59 am

    I’ve often said that college is the best job you’ll ever have.

  3. 3 Mary-Kathryn January 7, 2008 at 9:42 am

    Shannon,

    I love your rant! I shared this saying with Gardner a long while back, please let me share it with you. I cannot remember the exact source, I believe it is a Hassidic saying:

    “In each journey of your life you must be where you are. You may only be passing through on your way to somewhere else seemingly more important — nevertheless, there is purpose in where you are right now.”

    Your post nails this perfectly.

  4. 4 Joseph January 7, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Haha “best job you’ll ever have” besides watching youtube videos all day at work, right? RIGHT? LOLOL

    The people who equate their university experience to their own personal purgatory are the ones who wish that they were back at school. (Charlie Ross)

    To give you some perspective as someone who is moving out of school, though, I can tell you that there comes a point where tomorrow, not today, becomes the focus, like, “yeah, I’ve seen enough here, time to move on.” So, you start slowing down a little bit, and it’s not a bad feeling.

    There’s also great value in patience, I think, but I’m a future-oriented person, so there you go.

  5. 5 Laura January 7, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Great post. I think some people do this even in the jobs–waiting it out until retirement. Some people advise thinking about what you’d be doing if you didn’t need money and that’s what you should be doing. I sometimes think I’d like to be a writer full time, but I have such a good job that at least right now is something I’d do even if I didn’t need the money. I’m always thinking, though, that if I get to a point where the job wasn’t fun anymore, I’d find a way financially to up and quit and start something new. That’s the great thing about where you are right now. You can be in the moment and know that there’s something new for you whenever you want it.


  1. 1 Pedablogy: Musings on the Art & Craft of Teaching » Blog Archive » Chicken Little? Trackback on January 7, 2008 at 4:20 pm
  2. 2 Datlatiquette For Dummies at bavawednesdays Trackback on January 8, 2008 at 12:25 am

Leave a Reply

Tagged! My Del.icio.us Feed

Photos Huzzah!

20151129_102400

20151129_062815

20151129_062750

More Photos

