Questions

I have been thinking about this for awhile now, but one thing I have wanted to do is have students fill out a survey about higher education and their feelings towards it. I’m not really even sure where to begin on this. So I am going to ask my blog readers to give me and hand on this.

What questions would you ask of students about their feelings towards higher education? I’m not looking to make this a survey where someone would take up a whole page writing a response, so concise questions would be good. What kind of format should this be in? Should there multiple choice, a scale (1 to 5, agree or disagree), some open ended questions?

I don’t see a problem with getting a students to fill it out, especially if you are offering free candy if they complete the survey. Maybe some of you professors would be interested in having students fill it out too, I don’t know.

So let me know what you think. Is this a good idea or bad idea? And if you like it what kind of questions and what kind of format would you like to see this in?

3 Responses to “Questions”


  1. 1 redbaiters March 15, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Two questions would interest me:

    Where do they do most of their learning? In class (formally), by themselves, informally, socially, in the library, in the shower, etc.

    What do they think they will remember most about their experience ten years from now? What will stick with them and why? Is it the poeple? The abstract ideas? The setting? The “experience”? All of these things? What?

    I for one always come back to my days at UCLA and think about the job I had as an AV geek and the movies I snuck into at Melnitz Hall that weren’t associated with any class I was taking. Those were beautiful moments, one’s I wouldn’t trade for anything, but neither of them were predicated upon a class I needed to graduate.

  2. 2 Steve March 16, 2008 at 9:30 am

    1. What is the primary reason you (the student respondent) came to college? Is it to get a degree and thus a career credential, i.e. better job prospects? Is it to get an education for life? Is it what your parents expected you to do? Is it just the next thing people do in life after high school? Is it something else? (If so, identify the something.) Is it that you don’t know?

    2. How do you spend the majority of your time in college?

    3. Is the way you spend your time in college consistent with your primary reason for coming?

  3. 3 Mary-Kathryn March 16, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    As a parent who sees and hears things from the student side (and what I hear disturbs me to no end because it is the “You-Owe-Me Syndrome”)

    1. How much do you think you should be responsible for the learning process? Getting work in on time? Reaching out to the professor if you don’t understand the coursework? Doing the required assignments-reading the text, doing all projects and classwork?

    2. Do you expect to pass exams with little to no studying? If so, do you consider yourself an exceptionally bright student? ( Note: this isn’t a smart-alec question. I am amazed at the vast number who honestly don’t believe that studying for exams is a necessity–then they cry at the bad grade.)

    3. Do you resent being at college? If so, what would be a viable alternative for you? One that would allow you to be a fincancially independent person, functioning in the world, without living with relatives?

    Those are just some Momma questions I can think of :o)


Leave a Reply

Tagged! My Del.icio.us Feed

Photos Huzzah!


