Lifting My Head

Last school year, hyped up on new ideas and excitement, I took on my sophomore year with a new found fervor for learning. I spent plenty of time learning about subjects that interested me, often forgetting to do the work for classes I was enrolled in. Clearly the consequences of such a route are obvious and I was left with the bitter taste of failure.

Now it is junior year, another year to try again, another year to find balance.

This may be the year I learn a little bit of discipline when it comes to my studies. As it turns out you have to abide by some rules of the game to stay in it. Armed with this new found duh-knowledge, I’m in search of balancing work and play. In an odd way I’m curious to see what will come of learning to schedule myself and finishing work in a timely manner. This may sound strange but, it is something I’ve never had to do up until this point in my life, so I feel a little behind the curve.

But now that I’ve had my head down in the books for the first 5 weeks of class, I can finally take a moment to pick up my head. But like a student who has stared at a book for too long, my eyesight has yet to adjust to seeing farther distances. While I have been reflecting on course material and the seemingly myriad of connections between many classes (gotta love those serendipitous moments) I haven’t reflected much on a broader view of education.

If “education is a process of living and not a preparation for future living”*, why is it so easy to forget in college? I need not state the obvious answers, but I think something is deeply wrong with a system that separates education and living in the real world. And if students and employers complain that colleges haven’t prepared students for the real world, what has all this education prepared them for?

More thoughts as my brain gets back into the swing of this blog thing again : )

*Awesome quotage cred goes to John Dewey

2 Responses to “Lifting My Head”


  1. 1 bill October 2, 2008 at 5:47 am

    Because college is usually ‘book-learning’, not education. And rote book learning, at that.

  2. 2 Steve October 9, 2008 at 7:04 am

    Perhaps the “real world” that most people perceive (job, career, running the rat race) is not the actual (most important) real world. Real school does a pretty good job of preparing one for the actual real world. Just like pretend-school does a pretty good job of preparing one for that perceived real world.


Leave a Reply

Tagged! My Del.icio.us Feed

Photos Huzzah!

20151129_102400

20151129_062815

20151129_062750

More Photos

