The Week Long Experiments

I have this strange idea in my head and I’m throwing it out there to hear what you guys think and too see if you have any ideas.

Ever since I watched the movie Hard Promises (a bad 90s romance film) I identified with the male lead, Joey, who can’t deal with doing just one thing and his wander lust takes him to jobs all over the country. I knew that was how I felt about doing jobs. I’ve always been interested in learning a mile wide and an inch deep; I always wanted to move on to the next adventure.

In order to quench my insatiable urge to learn about a wide variety of things. I am instituting for myself the week long experiments experiment. I will spend a week learning about something and learning about it through what ever methods necessary. For example what is it like to be a vegetarian? I would probably spend the week as a vegetarian and researching the history of vegetarianism and asking all sorts of other question too. Naturally I would blog during the week about my experiment. There are a myriad of possibilities here and  I want you to help me think of more ideas. Hopefully once this project gets off the ground you could also help me form my research into each subject. I would also encourage anyone who would want to participate to try it out too, the more the merrier right?

So as of right now I have a few ideas for week long experiments, but I’d love to hear from you. So leave a comment (or multiple comments!) this experiment depends on help from you guys. If everything works out I would start this project during the summer when I have a little more free time to experiment.

Here are some ideas are I have so far: Learning about photography, Buddhism, week as a mute (crazy I know), practice parkour. Again anything and everything that you think would be worth investigating or maybe something that is just wacky and would make for an interesting week.

6 Responses to “The Week Long Experiments”


  1. 1 Martha April 13, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this idea. I can’t think of anything off the top of my head, but I’m going to brainstorm and come back.

  2. 2 Andy Rush April 13, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    I am intrigued as well. You had me rolling with the mute idea, imagining how you would handle that. Can we give to some caffeine that week for a real tough challenge 😉 I’ll try to think of some serious suggestions.

  3. 3 bill April 13, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    This is a remarkably ambitious endeavor.

    May I suggest:

    – working as a volunteer in a food kitchen or similar enterprise
    – working as a photographers assistant at a mass-photography enterprise (ie, mall shops, Headshots, etc
    – working as a baker’s assistant or cook’s assistant, either in a commercial enterprise (ie, not just ‘someone who can show me how to do it’)
    – working behind the desk at a busy library

  4. 4 sf April 13, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    I love this idea — and the advice you’re getting! I’m especially intrigued by Bill’s suggestions regarding volunteering or finding a way to get involved in something as a full-time (if short-term) apprentice. Sounds like a great idea.

    What about finding a way to explore an artisanal skill? A close friend of mine, a computer engineer, spent summers while in his teens working for an antiques shop that did furniture restorations. He gained a wonderful skill at woodworking in the process…

  5. 5 anish April 14, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    a very good idea. a week for each new thing. not too much of a commitment n long enough to explore. also won’t get distracted this way. thanks

  6. 6 jerry April 20, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    – How about being a historian for a week? Choose a topic local to you [maybe the history of DTLT 🙂 ] and write a history of it. Maybe an autobiography?

    – learn watercolor, or better yet, Chinese brush painting.

    – organize and execute a LED throwie graffiti art event.

    – learn how to play the recorder or harmonica.

    – be the official scorer for a week of baseball games.

    – do some traffic research – pick a hazardous stretch of road or intersection and research it – how many drivers use cell phones, run red lights, speed.

    – try getting around in a wheelchair for a week.


Leave a Reply

Tagged! My Del.icio.us Feed

Photos Huzzah!


