Victory in the War on Textbook Costs

Today I ordered my books for the fall semester. Not through the schools bookstore but, completely online. It can easily cost $500 for one semesters worth of books and for those whose budget is a little tighter that is just not an option.

So here are the hard facts:
– 11 books purchased
– Books = $105.49
– Shipping = $39.39
– TOTAL = $143.88

For me $150.00 can be a hit to the wallet but, compare that to what I would have paid if I could manage to get all my books from the schools bookstore at the used book price:

– Bookstore Used Book Price = $296.75
– Total Savings = $152.87

Now if the other students in my classes had beat me to the bookstore and all that was left was new books I think I would cry:

– Bookstore New Book Price = $413.84
– Total Savings = $269. 96

If I had gone to the bookstore I would be paying between 2 and 3 times the amount I did online. I’ve been a big proponent of students buying their books online, it just doesn’t make sense not to do it. The school even buys back the books that I have bought online so I do not worry about having to resell them all online. I could rant about the ways in which schools needlessly overcharge students but, I think the numbers I have presented speak for themselves. I have yet to have a bad experience with buying textbooks online and often times the used condition of the textbooks is better than I would have found at the bookstore. Stay tuned for the end of the semester when I compare what money I receive from textbook buyback and compare it to my initial costs, it should get interesting.

2 Responses to “Victory in the War on Textbook Costs”


  1. 1 bill August 6, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    It’s good that you were able to find out what texts were needed. Some schools don’t tell you until the class starts, which severely limits your manuever room.

  2. 2 J. Scott August 14, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    To combat high textbook prices I always use http://www.bigwords.com for my textbook needs. They are a textbook search engine that searches all the online retailers and rental sites to find you the best prices. You can even use them at the end of the semester to search for resellers to sell you books back too.


Leave a Reply

Tagged! My Del.icio.us Feed

Photos Huzzah!


