Nothing Like It

There is nothing like the first snow of the year. It makes me feel like I am 8 years old again and my biggest worry is that the snow might melt before I get to go sledding.

This weekend I went on a prayer overnight at a Young Life camp called Rockbridge. Leaders from all over the VA area came together to spend about 24 hours together in worship and prayer. I had never been to anything like it before and it was a spiritually exhausting experience. Despite the exhaustion sometimes you need a good get away to reboot and start with a fresh perspective. When we were leaving a bunch of us decided to go on a little detour that basically led up this mountain. It was the kind of darkness that allows you to see every star in the night sky and it takes your breath away. Of course eventually you have to come off the mountain and deal with reality (which happened to be drunk hall mates and a guy staying the night with my roomate) but luckily I have good friends who let me stay at their place.

What amazes me is that despite mankinds ability to build grand buildings and paint works of art there is nothing like nature. Whether it is a serene landscape or a violent storm, nature is the most beautifully designed piece of architecture and the most delicately formed work of art.

0 Responses to “Nothing Like It”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tagged! My Del.icio.us Feed

Photos Huzzah!


