Bored and Annoyed

One of the classes I am taking this semester is annoying me because I cannot figure out why I don’t like it.

This subject has always been one of my favorites and it aggravates me that I sit in class, bored silly, because my attention span grows really short. If anything my doodling skills have become better, but that doesn’t really help me when the time comes to take the midterm (which is this Friday).

The class is almost always the same format, a PowerPoint presentation with the main points and the professor fills in with details. Every class this semester has been like this except the two times we had a class discussion (which is a bunch of questions thought up by the professor) and that is about as exciting as the class has been. It is not like this is the same old information that I’ve heard in other classes on this subject, it definitely goes more in depth and discusses more topics. Despite this I cannot bring myself to listen to this professor talk for 50 minutes about anything. Maybe she is just giving us too much information and drowning us in detail? This is also a lower level course (it fulfills a requirement) so there is just the confusion of what I can expect from a professor who has a class of 60 people who are most likely taking the class to fulfill a requirement.

So maybe I know some reason as to why I don’t enjoy the class, but what can I do to change this? I’m not quite sure, but I’ve thought of at least one idea that could at least help me with organization. The professor puts up the PowerPoints before the day of the class and at first I had been printing it out and filling in the spaces, but that proved too messy. My laptop is still broken and dragging out my external keyboard is just a pain, but I think it might be the only way to I can pay attention because I can just copy and paste the PPT’s to a word document and then just fill it in that way. Maybe that way I’ll at least  have the notes to pass the class…

1 Response to “Bored and Annoyed”


  1. 1 sehauser February 22, 2007 at 9:33 pm

    I just talked to a person who was in my class last semester and is also in my class this semester and we were comparing the professors. She said last semester when she made a list of key concepts for the midterm she came up with 40-50. She made another list for this semesters class and she came up with 86. She agreed that it feels like the professor is drowning us in information and minute detail.


Leave a Reply

Tagged! My Del.icio.us Feed

Photos Huzzah!

20151129_102400

20151129_062815

20151129_062750

More Photos

