Brief Thoughts

I almost decided to put off writing down my thoughts until later because it is 1am, but I realized I probably would forget what I wanted to say when I woke up in the morning.

So just some things that I have been watching/reading over the last few days. It is always exciting when my Bloglines feeds says there are multiple new posts and over the last couple days there have been some exceptional ones. As per usual I tend to lurk rather than comment, but I have been watching and enjoying the conversation between Geeky Mom and Pedablogy about fishing, and all subsequent comments and posts that have come from that conversation. In addition, I just read a great post over at Gardner Writes, a reaction to George Steiner’s Lessons of the Masters. Just reading the reaction to the book I can sense inspiration and great hope, heck I even feel inspired and I’m not even quite sure I understand what I feel so impassioned about (if that makes any sort of logical sense?).

In short, what I am trying to say is that without these blogs how would I even begin to know about any of this? Not that some of these things are problems I deal with personally, but it is still eye opening. In the end a lot of this does trickle down to the students. Whether it is thoughts on “inverting the industrial model of teaching” or thoughts on a book, this sort of inspiration eventually reaches the students. For lack of a better word, it is cool to see the process from the beginning. From that one stray and inspired thought to possibly in the future seeing things come to fruition, it is just cool.

1 Response to “Brief Thoughts”


  1. 1 sgreenla March 9, 2007 at 8:04 am

    You’ve drunk the cool aide, Shannon. THere’s no turning back.

    It is cool, indeed!


Leave a Reply

Tagged! My Del.icio.us Feed

Photos Huzzah!


